The Power of Make-Up

DSC00468

I have never considered myself to be a vain person. I don’t take hours to get ready or feel the need to look absolutely perfect. I learnt pretty quickly that the women you see on the front of Vogue or in glossy fashion adverts are not ‘real’ women. They are tweaked women, women who have been airbrushed into perfection. The Kardashians are a prime example and I hate the fact girls seem to have this fascination with Kylie Jenner on Instagram. She’s nothing special, she’s just a girl who’s had plastic surgery to become what she believes is the perfect ideal, both facially and physically. I’m not criticising her choice to do that, hell, with her financial allowance I would expect it, but I do think that it’s putting false expectations on young women to look a certain way. Unless you have millions, or impeccable genes, you are never going to look like Kylie Jenner. That’s the cold hard truth any normal woman has to deal with.

Make-up is an avenue in which women, and men, can improve their appearance less permanently and at a much cheaper price. Personally, it boosts my confidence, allows me a flow of creativity every morning and quenches the retail thirst I get every time I walk into Debenhams. I spend a ridiculous amount of money on make-up, hundreds every year in fact, but it’s something I feel benefits me. I have very sensitive skin too, so cheap make-up products are a no go. I once tried a Rimmel London Foundation which I can only describe as sulphuric acid, it literally nearly burnt my skin off. (Kate Moss you have my utmost respect). Plus, the more you pay the better the make-up is in my opinion, sometimes there are those rare gems but usually I’d choose a high-end product over a drugstore one any day. I’m a snob when it comes to make-up….and champagne, those are the only things I’m snobby about, PLEASE you have to believe me. Oh and food…ok I’m an undercover middle-class capitalist, there I said it.

My history with make-up is a pretty bog standard one. Whilst I was at secondary school I literally never wore make-up. I didn’t see the point. I tried to occasionally alleviate the incredible peer pressure I felt to wear make-up, once coming into school resembling a clementine on a cocktail stick. But as time went on, I began more and more to ignore the pressure. I was always seen as an individual, even at primary school, (the ‘weird’ kid nobody liked etc). As I got older, however, I learnt that it was okay to be different from other people. I only began to wear make-up in college and then gradually progressed into wearing it every day. Now, I wouldn’t say I wear it to conform, I’m just genuinely more interested in the cosmetic industry, find putting on make-up rather enjoyable and if anything it makes me feel better about my appearance. Ultimately, I do it for me.

DSC00478

The moral of the story is never do anything to your appearance for anyone apart from yourself. Life’s too short. I see girls posting selfies on Instagram every week, sometimes every day and I think; who are you actually doing this for? Granted everyone loves to be complimented, loves to have likes on their pictures but don’t make it part of your weekly routine. Women should have enough confidence to look in the mirror and think ‘damn girl you are looking fine today’ without needing to get confirmation on social media. Period. Oh and that includes Kylie fucking Jenner.

Lydia.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin?

Instagram – Pe4rls

 

7 thoughts on “The Power of Make-Up

  1. I love makeup. I LOOOOOVE MAKEUP. It’s so much fun to play around with. Ever since my skin became not garbage a couple years ago (finallyyyyyyy), I stopped wearing foundation and everything associated with foundation. I put on my primer and I’m done unless I want to get all fancied up. Eye makeup though, SO MUCH FUN. ALL THE COLOURS! ALL THE EYE LINERS!

    I used to wear makeup because I thought I needed it and didn’t want people to see how heinous I thought I looked. The older I’ve gotten, the extreme lack of fucks I have to give are PLENTY.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

